Day 4: Death to sin

Therefore do not let sin reign in your mortal body so that you obey its evil desires. –Romans 6:12

Read the whole passage in Romans 6:1-14

Jesus changes everything. With him, no longer can pride be our haven, nor selfishness our habit. Pleasure must cease its reign, and materialism must relinquish its hold on our hearts. Self must be made Second. He must be named First. Jesus is not a club one joins or a band one follows. He is not a sport one plays or a company one works at. He is King. He is Master. It is “Yes, sir” Not “I’ll think about it.” It is, “You lead. I’ll follow. You speak. I jump.” It is not Jesus and whatever. It is Jesus and obedience. It is death to sin and down with the tyranny of evil in our lives. Facing our struggles starts with naming our king. Will it be this world, this age, our habit of error and pattern of selfishness, or will it be God? We can serve but one.

Talk with God.
God, I choose you as king. I choose you as the ruler of my life. It is you I wish to follow and you I wish to obey. Give me your patience, your strength, and your protection as I commit to you.

Live it. How will you live more second today?
Tell it. How will you share what you have learned?

Tweet using #IASdeathtosin to share your thoughts.

From the book “Live second” 365 ways to make Jesus first”

Leave a Reply

