Day 4: Sheep Keeper

I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. I and the Father are one.–John 10:28-30

Read the whole passage in John 10:1-30

Every shepherd has two dangers. The danger of wandering sheep that drift from the fold and step into hazard’s way and the danger of thieves who care nothing for the sheep, only for their bellies and their wallets. A good shepherd guards against both. Once placed in God’s fold, a believer need never worry about falling or being snatched away. No amount of ignorance, stupidity, or temptation can drag us off. For though we, like sheep, all wander, we will never outpace our Shepherd. Jesus keeps us safe and holds us near. So when nagging doubts crop up about whether God still loves us, about whether Jesus really saved us, we can be assured and let our minds rest in this truth: the Shepherd still stands guard.

Talk with God
Continue to watch over me as my Good Shepherd. Keep me from dangers. Keep me from my own missteps. Keep me from wandering.

Live it. How will you live more second today?
Tell it. How will you share what you have learned?

Tweet using #IASsheepkeeper to share your thoughts.

From the book “Live second: 365 ways to make Jesus first”

Leave a Reply

