Settle the dispute

For the flesh desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the flesh. They are in conflict with each other, so that you are not to do whatever you want. –Galatians 5:17

To be successful in accomplishing God’s will for our lives, we must have determination. One definition of determine is “to settle a dispute by an authoritative decision or a pronouncement.” This definition encourages me because I make “pronouncements” often as a way of building my determination in certain areas.

For example, when I’m weary and tempted to feel sorry for myself for some reason, I tell myself, Oh, no you don’t! Stop your whining and straighten up! God loves me, and I can do all things though Christ who strengthens me!

Galatians 5:17 tells us that the flesh and the spirit don’t get along. Remember, the definition of determine carries the idea of settling a dispute. This is important because if you are going to commit to anything, you will have to settle the never-ending dispute between your flesh and your spirit.

You may not always want to make the effort to be determined, but don’t give up or you’ll be outside of God’s will. When you’re tempted to give up, make “pronouncements” based on God’s Word, encouraging yourself to stay determined and settle the dispute between your spirit and flesh as you follow His plan.

From the book “Promises for our everyday lives”

Leave a Reply

